Casting has begun on the Metal Gear Solid movie

Oscar-nominated actress Amy Adams has revealed several tidbits about the forthcoming video game adaptation, namely: she’s in consideration to play the hero’s sidekick, Meryl Silverburgh, and would accept the part in a heartbeat, Christian Bale (The Dark Knight) and Viggo Mortensen (Eastern Promises) are in talks to play Solid Snake, the main character, and Kurt Wimmer (Ultraviolet) is currently the top directing choice.

“I have read half way through the script and Meryl developed into a real character that I felt for, she is someone who wants to be strong and will work for it no matter how hard it is… That’s the kind of role that I want, so if they call me in and ask me I will definitely say yes.”

“From what I can tell you, they are still in early development for the movie. Some actors I know they have asked are Viggo Mortensen and Christian Bale, but that as far as I know and I can tell you, there really keeping secret about casting.”

“Well, like I said there [sic] still in early development, but Kurt Wimmer is apparently asked to direct the movie, but nothing is official I mean they could change the director at any time, so nothing is definite right now.”

Metal Gear is one of the most beloved video game franchises of all time, so they better not screw this one up. Honestly, things aren’t looking very good. Kurt Wimmer isn’t really known for his subtelty, his films being mostly remembered for flashy action scenes while the Metal Gear games popularized the idea of stealth progression as entertainment. Also, Christian Bale may be everyone’s favorite actor right now, but I don’t think he fits the character well. Remember when Bale was really hesitant about Batman Begins because he didn’t want to be associated with a big franchise? My how things change.

Honestly, the simple fact they’re calling this Metal Gear Solid seems wrong to me, as that game was actually the third in the series. The games have a very clear storyline that spans five decades, so they should either adapt them in the order they came out, thus basing the film on the 1987 game Metal Gear, or in chronological order by adapting Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater, which came out four years ago. In any case, the movie was expected to come out in 2009 but that can’t really happen if they want to do it right. And they better.

Source

Leave a Reply

