Russell Crowe not Watson, maybe Moriarty

A days ago, rumors were going around that Australian actor Russell Crowe (American Gangster) was cast as super detective Sherlock Holmes’ assistant Dr. Watson in the forthcoming Holmes film from cult English director Guy Ritchie (Snatch.), but Ritchie quickly replied with:

“I don’t have a Watson, somebody just told me that I have Russell Crowe lined up but that’s news to me. I suspect that hasn’t happened and I’m still looking for my Watson.”

Notice how he doesn’t say Crowe won’t be part of the movie, just that he won’t be playing Watson. Indeed, the word on the street is that Crowe is in fact in the running to play Professor James Moriarty, Holmes’ arch-nemesis.

Sherlock Holmes is slated for 2010 and stars Robert Downey Jr. (Tropic Thunder) as the world’s most famous detective. Meanwhile, Guy Ritchie’s latest, RocknRolla, premiered a couple of days ago in the UK.

Source

One thought on “Russell Crowe not Watson, maybe Moriarty

  1. Pingback: Elementary, my dear Jude Law « The Movie Planet

Leave a Reply

