Iron Man 2 in IMAX 3D?

Iron Man director Jon Favreau wants to follow in The Dark Knight‘s footsteps and shoot part of the sequel with IMAX cameras. As you may or may not know, IMAX screens are much more square-shaped than “normal” ones, with an aspect ratio of 143/100 as compared to 185/100 which is the standard for most films these days.

I wasn’t lucky enough to catch The Dark Knight in IMAX but a lot of people who did insist it is truly amazing to behold. From what I understand, the image would expand for certain scenes, offering the viewer a greater immersion into the film. Once again I haven’t experienced it, so I can’t really comment, but if it is as good as they say, then awesome I guess.

Additionally, Favreau says he’d love for Iron Man 2 to go 3D, which I really don’t think is a good idea. I’m strongly opposed to the idea that 3D is the future of cinema. I enjoy 3D films when they come out, but I am a firm believer than 2D is capable of drawing in the viewer much better than 3D, strangely enough.

Source

2 thoughts on “Iron Man 2 in IMAX 3D?

  1. Pingback: Y: The Last Man to be in IMAX? « The Movie Planet

  2. Pingback: Hollywood has gone IMAX crazy « The Movie Planet

Leave a Reply

