Ryan Gosling HATED Rachel McAdams

“-In my arms lover!

-Take one more step and I’ll deck you…”

Thirty plus year olds have Titanic, but most women in their twenties today would agree, The Notebook was it, one of their absolute favorite movies. I’m not ashamed to say it’s one of mine as well. Adapted from a Nicholas Sparks novel, the film was a huge hit in 2004 launching its two young stars, Ryan Gosling and Rachel McAdams, into the stratosphere.

Audiences swooned for the epic romance on screen just as they swooned for the apparent epic romance in real life, as Gosling and McAdams very publicly dated for three to four years. They were the Edward & Bella of their time. People loved to love them, equating the two thespians with their characters and dreaming of a happily ever after. Except it turns out they couldn’t stand each other. Whoops.

To celebrate The Notebook‘s 10th anniversary, director Nick Cassavetes decided to reveal to VH1 that in fact, Gosling hated McAdams so much, he wanted her fired.

Maybe I’m not supposed to tell this story, but they were really not getting along one day on set. Really not. And Ryan came to me, and there’s 150 people standing in this big scene, and he says, “Nick come here.” And he’s doing a scene with Rachel and he says, “Would you take her out of here and bring in another actress to read off camera with me?” I said, “What?” He says, “I can’t. I can’t do it with her. I’m just not getting anything from this. We went into a room with a producer; they started screaming and yelling at each other. I walked out. At that point I was smoking cigarettes. I smoked a cigarette and everybody came out like, “All right let’s do this”

What you hear is the sound of 15 million girls screaming in agony. A lot of young girls tend to go for the “bad boy who treats them badly type”, so maybe that’s what happened, or it’s always possible the two London, Ontario natives eventually got along great.

It can’t possibly be that two young stars entered a showmance to further their careers and popularity by coasting on a film’s success and pretending in front of the cameras. No, no way. That never happens. I mean can’t you see the absolute raw passion they share in this 2008 picture?

Leave a Reply

